Skill of the Month: Award Winning Design by Aman Garg

    Guides
    teachers
    education
    lesson-plans

    Best AI Tools for Teachers in 2026

    The 11 AI tools teachers actually keep using in 2026, ranked by job, with free tiers, real prices and what each one does with student work.

    September 28, 202617 min read
    Share:

    By Samuel Rose, Founder of Agensi. Last updated September 28, 2026. What changed: 11 ranked tools in four groups, the Agensi method published with a student-data gate, free tiers and teacher pricing checked on September 23, 2026.

    One vendor advertises 30-plus tools, another 80-plus. A teacher with one prep period cannot audit 80, so this page does two things the others do not. It says, for every tool, what happens to student work you put into it, and it drops any tool that cannot say. And it prices everything against a teacher paying out of pocket, free tier first.

    The short version. For lesson planning, ChatGPT for Teachers or Claude for Teachers, both free for verified US K-12 educators right now, then Brisk inside Google Docs. For grading and feedback, CoGrader. For presentations and engagement, Wayground, the tool formerly called Quizizz, and Canva for Education. For differentiation and parent communication, Khanmigo for Teachers, Diffit and TalkingPoints. Two well-known tools are missing on purpose: Gradescope and Turnitin train their models on de-identified student work by default, so they fail the gate below.

    Pick your starting point

    Google's own answer to this search ends by asking your grade level or subject, and which task you want to automate first. Use those two.

    If you teach elementary or middle school, the lesson planning and differentiation groups give you the most hours back, and every tool in them works without students logging in. If you teach high school or community college writing, start with grading and feedback, then read the student data section before you upload a single essay. If you teach anything with a projector, presentations and engagement. If the task is the same parent email in four languages, skip to TalkingPoints. Community college instructors: the free K-12 offers from OpenAI, Anthropic and Canva do not cover you, and each entry says so.

    How we picked these tools

    This is the short form of the Agensi method, the same one on every ranking page we publish. A list without a stated method is an opinion, and an opinion does not get cited.

    The longlist had 19 tools: the top search results for "ai tools for teachers", the tools Google's AI Overview names in its three groups, the teacher subreddits, and the Agensi collections. A tool stays if it passes four checks. Available: buyable without a sales call, or labelled sales-led. Alive: a release or price change in the last 12 months. On the job: it does its group's job. Evidenced: tested by us, or rated at least 4.0 from 50 or more reviews on a named platform. Education tools rarely clear the last check, because Common Sense Education paused its reviews in February 2026 and few teachers write on G2. So this page uses the method's third tier: a tool that passes the gate below but not the rating bar is listed for completeness and unscored, and says so.

    The gate, which matters more here than the rating. A tool is not listed unless the vendor states plainly what it does with submitted student work, and it is not listed if it trains models on student data by default, whatever else it does well. This is a gate and not a change to the weights, which are fixed across every page we publish. It removes Gradescope and Turnitin, whose shared privacy policy allows de-identified student data to be used "to develop, refine, and improve machine learning or artificial intelligence models". It removes Gamma, which uses content from individual accounts to improve its AI unless you opt out and excludes anyone under 16. It removes ClassPoint and Eduaide, whose privacy pages we could not read in full, and they come back the day we can.

    We have not run our benchmark on these tools. The benchmark is one published curriculum standard and one 50-minute slot turned into a differentiated lesson plan for three reading levels, a ten-question formative assessment with an answer key, and a parent-facing summary, costed at one teacher, one seat, free tier first. When we run it, each tool gets a score out of 100 across six dimensions, weighted in this order: output quality, total cost, job fit, sustained user experience, setup and integration, data and security. Until then there is no score column. The ranking is our judgement on vendor documentation, third-party ratings where they exist, and dated user reviews.

    Disclosure: Agensi sells skills that install into Claude, Cursor, Codex CLI and Copilot, and this page links to our collections. We sell no education tool and no vendor paid to be listed. Reviewed by Samuel Rose, Founder of Agensi. Refreshed on a major release, a price change, or every six months.

    Prices and ratings were checked on September 23, 2026. This page never calls a tool compliant with any education privacy law. It quotes what the vendor says and points you to the person at your school or district who owns that decision.

    How teachers actually use AI

    Four jobs: planning and materials, grading and feedback, presentations and engagement, differentiation and the note home. The line that matters more than the groups is teacher-facing against student-facing. A teacher-facing tool never sees a student's name or work; a student-facing tool does, and that is where the gate bites. District-bought platforms come with a signed data agreement; this page is about what you can use on your own.

    AI tools for lesson planning and content creation

    1. ChatGPT for Teachers

    ChatGPT for Teachers ranks first because it is free, it is the full product, and OpenAI states that nothing you share in it is used to train models by default. It is a dedicated workspace for verified US K-12 educators, launched November 19, 2025, with FERPA-aligned protections and a student data agreement, in OpenAI's words. Student data: not used for training; the plan is "not for students", so no student accounts.

    Watch: K-12 only, so community college faculty are on the consumer plans, which train on your content unless you turn it off. OpenAI's own pages disagree on the end date: the help center says June 2028, the pricing pages June 2027. A reviewer in September 2026 noted it "can sound more confident than evidence supports".

    Price: Free for verified US K-12 staff. Consumer Plus $20 a month. G2 4.6 from 3,016 reviews, all of ChatGPT.

    2. Claude for Teachers

    Claude for Teachers is the same offer from Anthropic, announced July 14, 2026: Pro-level features free for a year for verified US K-12 educators, with training off by default for every educator account, a FERPA-configured setting for student data and a K-12 data processing addendum. It is second only because the free year is a year; sign up by June 30, 2027. Student data: not used for training; educator-only, no student accounts. Claude is also the assistant that runs installable skills, which the last section is about.

    Watch: K-12 and 18-plus only. Usage caps still apply, and Claude reviewers across 2026 name "the usage limit" as the main complaint.

    Price: Free for a year for verified US K-12 educators. Pro $17 a month annual otherwise. G2 4.6 from 462 reviews, all of Claude.

    3. Brisk Teaching

    Brisk is the extension that works where you already are: inside Google Docs, Slides, Classroom, Canvas and YouTube, generating materials, levelling text and writing feedback. Student data: Brisk states that "user input is not used to train any AI models" and that it does not store the underlying student work it processes; it names FERPA and COPPA in its FAQ and reports SOC 2 as of October 2025. Its rating comes from the Chrome Web Store rather than G2, which is why it is third.

    Watch: desktop Chrome or Edge only, and the free tier runs on standard models. The individual Educator Pro plan exists but its price appears only inside the sign-up flow.

    Price: Free with 20-plus tools. Educator Pro price not published. Chrome Web Store 4.7 from 730 ratings, over a million users.

    4. MagicSchool AI

    MagicSchool is the 80-tool platform, and it is listed unscored because it has 7 reviews on G2, not because of anything it does with data. On data it is one of the clearest vendors on this page: it does not use children's personal information to train models, holds SOC 2 Type II and iKeepSafe COPPA and FERPA certifications, and requires that students be added by a school or educator before they can use the student side.

    Watch: a reviewer in January 2026 said it "can feel overwhelming with all of the tools, so most teachers end up using just 1 or 2". A signed data agreement is Enterprise-only, so an individual teacher cannot get one.

    Price: Free, forever, for the teacher tools. Plus $8.33 a month annual for unlimited generations. G2 4.7 from 7 reviews, below our bar.

    Eduaide, the tool Google's answer names first for lesson planning, is not ranked: its pricing and privacy pages block automated reading, and we do not list a price we could not see. For Claude users, the free Teacher Lesson Plan Generator skill produces a standards-aligned plan with differentiation and timing, in Claude skills for education and learning.

    AI tools for grading and student feedback

    This is the group where student work goes in, so the gate did most of its work here. Two big names are out: Gradescope and Turnitin, because their privacy policy allows de-identified student data to train their models by default, and Turnitin cannot be bought by an individual teacher anyway. Every tool below still assumes a human gives the mark; the AI drafts the feedback.

    5. CoGrader

    CoGrader imports a class from Google Classroom, Canvas or Schoology, grades essays against your rubric and pushes feedback back. It ranks first because it is the one dedicated grader that clears both bars: 63 reviews at 4.6, and a plain statement that it does not use "student work, assignment questions, rubrics, prompts, or AI outputs" to train any model, with a SOC 2 Type 1 attestation. Student data: not used for training; the teacher imports submissions, so no student accounts.

    Watch: its AI-detection feature is the weak point by the vendor's own admission and reviewers' experience. "I don't feel that the AI detection and plagiarism checker are accurate", one wrote in March 2026. Fifty of its 63 reviews arrived in one week that month, which reads like a campaign.

    Price: Free for 100 submissions a month. Standard $15 a month annual for 350, with handwriting support. G2 4.6 from 63 reviews.

    Brisk's feedback tools, above, write comments straight into Google Docs, with targeted feedback on the paid tier, and MagicSchool's free plan includes class writing feedback. Both pass the gate. If you draft feedback in Claude, Student Feedback Writer produces research-backed comments and Rubric Creator builds the rubric first; both are in Claude skills for productivity.

    AI tools for presentations and engagement

    6. Wayground

    Wayground, the new name for Quizizz, ranks first because it clears every bar on this page. It is the best-rated tool here, its privacy policy states it has disabled AI providers' use of user data for training, it holds ISO 27001, and students can join a game without creating an account. Student data: not used for training; no student account required.

    Watch: reviewers in December 2025 and January 2026 report LMS integration that "sometimes doesn't integrate" and limits in the points and reporting. The individual paid plan's price sits on a page that blocks automated reading; confirm it before you buy.

    Price: Free for every teacher, up to 100 students. Individual paid plan price not verified. G2 4.9 from 255 reviews, Capterra 4.8 from 545.

    7. Canva for Education

    Canva's full paid feature set is free for verified K-12 teachers and their students, and Canva states it never uses student data to train AI models and is a signatory to the National Data Privacy Agreement. Student data: not used for training; students are invited by the teacher. It is second because it is a design tool with AI in it, not an engagement tool, and because community college faculty are not covered.

    Watch: verification requires an education email or proof of employment. The general Canva complaint applies outside Education: templates behind paid plans and a video editor that has "become so painful to use", per a reviewer in September 2026.

    Price: Free for K-12 educators and students. Everyone else, Pro at $144 a year. G2 4.7 from 7,701 reviews, all of Canva.

    8. Curipod

    Curipod runs teacher-led interactive lessons with live student writing and instant AI feedback, and students do not have accounts. It is listed unscored with 2 reviews on G2. On data it is clear: "We never use teacher or student data to train the AI models we use", and student personal data is not shared with model providers.

    Watch: the free plan renews weekly with usage limits and caps student responses at 1,000 characters; the only paid tiers are school and district.

    Price: Free for individual teachers. School plans custom. G2 4.5 from 2 reviews, below our bar.

    Gamma makes good slides from a prompt and fails the gate: individual accounts feed its models unless you opt out, and its terms exclude anyone under 16. ClassPoint's privacy page has a FERPA and COPPA section whose text we could not read, so it waits. For images in slides, Claude skills for images and video is the collection to browse.

    AI tools for differentiation and parent communication

    This is the half of the benchmark task no vendor list owns: the same lesson at three reading levels, and the summary that goes home.

    9. Khanmigo for Teachers

    Khanmigo for Teachers ranks first because it is free in 44 countries through Microsoft's sponsorship, it plans lessons against Khan Academy's library, and Khan Academy states it does not allow LLMs to train on student data and does not share names with providers. Student data: not used for training; the lesson-planning tools need no student accounts, the student-progress summary needs students on Khan Academy. Its rating is Khan Academy's, not Khanmigo's.

    Watch: sponsor-funded with no published end date, and the student features only work with Khan Academy's own content.

    Price: Free for teachers. Learner accounts $4 a month. G2 4.5 from 177 reviews, for Khan Academy.

    10. Diffit

    Diffit turns any topic, text, link or video into levelled passages with vocabulary and questions, which is the differentiation half of the benchmark in one tool. It is listed unscored because it has no reviews on G2 or Capterra. Diffit does not take student work; it takes your source. Its privacy page names FERPA and COPPA and lists it as a signatory to the National Data Privacy Agreement, but does not state a model-training position, so ask before any student data goes in.

    Watch: the free tier loses anything you made more than 90 days ago, and export to Google or Microsoft formats is paid. Individuals can only pay monthly by card.

    Price: Free, 90-day access to your resources. Individual $14.99 a month. No rating, below our bar.

    11. TalkingPoints

    TalkingPoints is two-way family messaging translated between 150 languages, with AI and human translation, and it is the best-rated tool in this group. It handles messages, not student work. TalkingPoints states it is FERPA compliant and that COPPA does not apply because children under 13 do not use it; it does not state a model-training position.

    Watch: on the free plan families cannot receive messages by text; that needs a school or district contract. Families use the app or the web instead.

    Price: Always free for teachers. School plans by quote. G2 4.8 from 570 reviews.

    For Claude users, Classroom Resource Differentiator adapts one resource for mixed abilities with support notes and extension tasks, and Student Welcome Packet Builder drafts the family-facing pack. Both are in Claude skills for education and learning; for the note home in another language, Claude skills for translation and localisation is the collection.

    AI agents for teachers

    A tool answers when you ask. An agent runs on its own: reads the class list, drafts the email to every family, files the feedback. For a teacher that changes one thing, and it is not speed. An agent running unattended on a class list is a student-facing system, whatever the vendor calls it, and it needs the same data answer as everything in the grading group. None of the tools above is an agent in that sense yet. If you want to build one for a narrow job, the procedures are in Claude skills for agents and orchestration, and keep student names out of it until your district has signed something.

    Student data and academic integrity

    The gate, restated in plain words. Before any student work goes into a tool, find the vendor's sentence on training. Not "we take privacy seriously"; the sentence. MagicSchool, Brisk, CoGrader, Wayground, Canva, Curipod, Khan Academy, OpenAI and Anthropic each have one, quoted above. Gradescope and Turnitin have the opposite sentence. Diffit, TalkingPoints, ClassPoint and Eduaide have none we could read.

    Then find the policy owner. Someone at your school or district signs data agreements, and the free offers above are individual, not institutional. This page cannot tell you which side of that line you are on. Ask.

    On detection: the two vendors that sell detectors on this page both say not to trust them alone. CoGrader's reviewers doubt its accuracy, and the false positive lands on a real student. Use the writing process, drafts, and conversation as evidence before a score.

    On the tools themselves: anything on this page that connects to outside data through a skill or an agent has its own risk. Are AI agent skills safe explains what to check, and how the Agensi security scan works explains what every skill on our marketplace passes before it is listed.

    Free tiers: what you actually get

    ChatGPT for Teachers and Claude for Teachers: the full product, free for verified US K-12 staff, one through at least June 2027 and one for a year from sign-up. Brisk: standard models. MagicSchool: all teacher tools, limited history. CoGrader: 100 submissions a month. Wayground: up to 100 students. Canva for Education: everything, K-12 only. Curipod: weekly sessions. Khanmigo: everything, sponsor-funded. Diffit: 90 days of access to what you make. TalkingPoints: no SMS. A K-12 teacher can run this whole page at $0. Free skills exist too: best free AI agent skills lists them.

    What teachers actually report

    For each tool we looked for dated reviews from the last 12 months on G2, Capterra and the Chrome Web Store, retrieved September 23, 2026, and coded each against the six themes in our method. We found them for four tools, MagicSchool, CoGrader, Wayground and Canva, and none for the rest. That is not enough to score and we do not score it.

    What there is says two things. Output that needs a second look: MagicSchool "doesn't go as in depth on the skills you are looking to assess", per a reviewer in April 2026; CoGrader's detection "not the most reliable". And integration gaps: Wayground and the LMS. Nobody complained about price, which is the difference between this page and every other one we publish.

    How to choose your stack

    Pick one task from the routing block and one prep period. Sign up for the free K-12 offer that fits, ChatGPT or Claude, and run that task on it for a week. If the task needs student work, add CoGrader and read the data section again. Add one tool per group after that, never two. The Claude prompts worth reusing page is the fastest way to make week one useful.

    Mistakes to avoid

    Uploading essays to a consumer plan. ChatGPT's consumer tiers train on content unless you turn it off; the Teachers plan does not.

    Taking a district's tool as your own permission. The free offers are individual. The agreement is the district's.

    Trusting a detector. Both vendors say not to. The cost is a wrong accusation.

    Building on a free tier that expires. Diffit keeps 90 days. Claude for Teachers keeps a year. Plan the export.

    Ignoring community college. Every free K-12 offer on this page excludes you. Budget $17 to $20 a month for the assistant.

    The six skills named above are a start, and every one of them sits in a collection linked from its chapter.

    Samuel Rose is the founder of Agensi, a marketplace for AI agent skills built on the SKILL.md open standard. Last updated September 28, 2026.